Giving Power, Taking Power: Emotional Labor, Gender, and Abuse

Food for thought. Every traditional job I have ever had has been “pink collar.” I hated most of them. The more I liked them, the less “emotional burden” I was required to tolerate.

GODS & RADICALS

“…give a portion of your power to women…”

– Roman prayer to Cybele

Her legs buckle and I know what to do.

I don’t just mean easing my client to the ground and checking for stroke. As I wait for the charge nurse, I focus on my smile. Other residents have visitors, after all; they’re liable to complain about a caregiver who lets it show that she’s had too little sleep for a 12-hour shift. Nursing resembles customer service, waitstaffing, and retail: most of the work does not involve the specific set of tasks listed in the job description. 80% of the time, nursing means presenting cheerfulness, politeness, deference, and a willingness to handle other people’s interpersonal tension no matter how they treat you.

And as I push through the minor crisis on the emotional momentum of my devotional prayer that morning, I wonder, “Why should my employer care about my facial…

View original post 1,187 more words

~ by Sable Aradia on January 31, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
The Averraine Cycle

The website for Morgan Smith, author

R. M. Mulder

Author of the Conquest Series

Mystery Deb

A Writer's Life: Business and Personal

Kell Yeah!

Welcome to Kell's website - We gots the fiction, we gots the updates, and we gots the pretty pictures, too!

(Almost) Average

ramblings of the mediocre

Paper Beats World

The life and times of a writer, mom, and comic book nerd

michellemurrayauthor

Author, poetry, musings

Mercedes Prunty Author

The Walking Mumbie

Traveling Light

a life in motion

The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna

Match stick readings and contemplative meditations about great Bablion and obsequious Chatlanians

s a gibson

Experiences in writing

The Dream Book Blog

On writing, creativity, psychological reality, and dreams

The Protagonist Speaks

Interviews with the protagonists of your favourite books

RevKess's Reviews

RevKess reviews books and music.

JC Morrows

Fantastical Fiction Wrapped up in Faith

Renaissance Universal

Respect for all living beings.

Notes From The Slush Pile

A Blog by James A. Conan

